As Albert Einstein proclaimed: “Everything is energy.” So our bodies are energy and are made up of many energy centers.

These serve as openings for our life energy to flow in and out of our ethereal body.

What are the 7 Chakras?

Along the central axis of our being, it is considered that there are 7 major energy stations that are associated with our physical, mental and emotional interactions.

These are known as Chakras—from Sanskrit meaning “wheel” or disk”—each of these centers correlates to a major nerve ganglia branching forth from the spinal column.

Each of the Chakras resonate with a level of consciousness, color, sound, body function and more.

Keeping the Chakras aligned

When Chakras are open, energy flows freely, balancing the body and connecting to the divine source.

When Chakras are aligned, your body and mind function optimally and you feel integrated and healthy. But when something disturbs you mentally, emotionally or environmentally, these influences can cause energy to get blocked or stuck in one or more energy centers. Usually obvious symptoms occur that signal which Chakra may be out of sorts.

Chakras are invisible to the human eye, but they can be perceived intuitively by trained energy workers. You can learn to recognize specific symptoms.

The 7 Chakras

Since I have a Crystal Medicine Certification from the National Association of Holistic Wellness, I’ll share information about each energy center along with colors and gemstones that you can use to help balance those Chakras.

1. The Root or Base Chakra

Known as Muladhara, this is associated with the color red and is considered our foundation. It represents our survival instincts and the connection of our bodies to the physical plane.

Located at the base of the spine, it grounds us to earth and is associated with the adrenal gland, bones, teeth, nails, blood, the colon and rectal area.

– When balanced, the Root Chakra allows masculine and feminine energies to work together for strength and vitality.

– When out of balance, you may become overbearing and have difficulty with ego.

There are gemstones you can use for balancing the Base Chakra including: Agate, Bloodstone, Hematite, Red Garnet, Ruby, Red Jasper, Onyx and Black Tourmaline.

2. The Sacral or Spleen Chakra

Also known as the  Svadhisthana, it is associated with the color orange and is our sexual energy center.

Located in the abdomen, lower back and sexual organs, it relates to emotions, sexuality and is the center of creativity and vitality.

– When balanced, this Chakra helps us be adaptable.

– When out of balance, this energy center can generate fear.

Gemstones to use for balancing include: Carnelian, Coral, Moonstone, Fire Opal.

7 chakras_23. The Solar Plexus or Manipura

Thus is associated with the color yellow and is the power center of the body. It rules our personal power, metabolism, ego and personality.

– When healthy, this Chakra brings us energy, effectiveness, spontaneity and strength.

– When unbalanced, it can produce rage and destructive anger.

Gemstones to use for balancing include: Amber, Citrine, Tiger’s Eye, Topaz and Yellow Jasper.

4. The Heart Chakra or Anahata

This Chakra is associated with colors of green and pink and is the middle of the entire chakra system. It controls circulation, heart, lungs and oversees the immune system. It relates to unconditional love, harmony, forgiveness, healing and compassion.

– A healthy 4th Chakra allows us to love deeply and enjoy peace.

– When out of balance, we become ill, selfish and detached.

Gemstones for balancing include: Emerald, Rhodonite, Rhodochrosite, Rose Quartz, Ruby, Watermelon Tourmaline

5. The Throat Chakra or Visuddhi

Associated with the color blue and located at the pit of the throat and relates to self-expression and communication.

– When open, this Chakra allows you to speak your truth and express true feelings with love.

– When closed, this Chakra traps feelings and causes discomfort.

Gemstones to open this Chakra include: Aquamarine, Blue Sapphire, Turquoise, Lapis Lazuli, Sodalite

6. The Third Eye Chakra or Ajna

This is associated with the colors of indigo or deep blue and is located in the middle of the brow center between the eyebrows. It relates to seeing both physically and intuitively and governs the pituitary gland and nervous system.

– When open, this Chakra gives us spiritual wisdom and enlightenment.

To open this Chakra, gemstones include: Amethyst, Angelite, Iolite, Lapis, Fluorite, Sodalite and Sapphire.

7. The Crown Chakra or Sahasrara

This final Chakra is associated with colors of white or violet and is located at the top of the head and encompasses the entire nervous system and pineal gland.

It is the center of thought and unity with the divine, wisdom and purpose.

– When open, this Chakra brings us knowledge, wisdom and spiritual connectivity.

Gemstones include: Amethyst, Quartz, Sapphire and Diamond.

Chakras and tradition

In Tantric, the ancient Indian tradition of beliefs for connecting to consciousness Chakras are used as focal points for meditation, visualized as swirls of energy within the body that resemble disks or four-petaled flowers.

These points coincide with a number of nadis, or points where meridians converge.

Chakras and yoga

According to one yogi master, these images have actually been seen by yogis. But much like asana yogic practice, the asanas come out of an awakened Kundalini. So if you are working to awaken Kundalini you practice these same yoga asanas willfully. The same can be said about Chakra visualizations.

Peggy Sealfon is a personal development coach and author of the best-selling book Escape from Anxiety—Supercharge Your Life with Powerful Strategies from A to Z.

Check out her two WatchFit Plans: Stress Buster Plan or Yoga: Body-Mind Builder. To learn more about crystal medicine gemstone jewelry, connect with me.

Connect with Expert Peggy Sealfon

WatchFit Experts change lives!

And they can do the same for you.


Pollyanna Hale Health and Lifestyle coaches
Lost 13 Kg in Total
Mel, 32y Location: London, United Kingdom Working with Pollyanna changed everything. I lost 13kg, got toned and have more energy than ever! Get same results!


Chriz Zaremba Fitness Consultant
Lost 45 Kg in Total
Chris, 50y Location: London, United Kingdom Lost 45kg after the age of 50 and now competes and wins physique competitions and runs marathons Check our weight loss plans