You may well have heard about Chakras but do you know what they are. And no, nothing to do with Chaka Khan!

A Chakra is related to your non physical body, and originates from ancient India

You have 7 chakras and they are an energy point in your body.


The word Chakra means disk or a wheel, and then the energy flows through these they spin. I imagine mine when they are spinning to be like a Catherine Wheel on fireworks night. I have had others and seen them as glittering roses opening to bloom.

Your chakras sit along your spine, the start at the base of your spine and carry on up through the crown of your head.

There is an invisible energy called Prana

Prana is considered a vital life force that helps to keep us healthy and vibrant.

You can work on opening and keeping your chakras in check with meditation or treatments such a reiki which channel divine energy from the universe. And each chakra has a color attached to it.

Lets discover your chakras…

As you read on you may feel that you have an issue in a certain area. Perhaps you have tried everything but this ‘situation’ keeps arising. It is possible that your energy or the prana is unable to flow to that chakra, perhaps it is blocked – just as if you hold a water hose you block the water from flowing.

Discover Your 7 Chakras

1st Chakra – Red (Mulahara) this is the root chakra which symbolizes security and stability. This is the grounding chakra. This will affect the bladder and the colon, and this will be open when you feel safe.

2nd Chakra – Orange (Svahisthana) this symbolizes our sexual drive and creative nature, and is situated on the pubic bone just below the navel. This will effect our emotions.

3rd Chakra – Yellow (Manipura) this is located between your navel and your breastbone

4th Chakra – Green (Anahata) one of the most important because it is located at the centre – your heart. This bridges a gap between our mind, body and spirit. It houses our emotions and is considered the link to spirit.

5th Chakra – Blue (Vishdduha) This is located in the area of the throat. This includes the neck, thyroid, jaw, mouth and tongue. Perhaps you have suffered a lot with sore throats, it could be that you have a blockage here and you are not able to speak your real truth

6th Chakra– Indigo (Ajna) Located between the eyebrows. It is referred to also as the 3rd Eye. This chakra is about our intuition. Sometimes in meditation I can feel this one opening as I get a tight sensation in this area.

7th Chakra – Purple (Sahaswara) This is located at the crown of our head and is the chakra of entitlement and for a spiritual connection to our high selves and to divine guidance.

If you would like to go a little deeper and get to know your chakras and feel the energy of these, mediation would be the first step. Deepak Choprah and Oprah Winfrey have a 21 day meditation challenge which is brilliant. We give it to all our clients and they have one in particular called – Finding Your Flow and it will help with this massively.

I have worked with many a client who has been unable to shift weight. All the science indicates that they should be losing, but somehow they hold onto it. However once we have been able to change their energies in their body things start happening.

Sit back and take a look at and look into your body and build awareness of what is really going on.

It’s a gut feeling and you will know if something is not quite firing.


Connect here with Expert Laura Ash.

WatchFit Experts change lives!

And they can do the same for you.


Pollyanna Hale Health and Lifestyle coaches
Lost 13 Kg in Total
Mel, 32y Location: London, United Kingdom Working with Pollyanna changed everything. I lost 13kg, got toned and have more energy than ever! Get same results!


Chriz Zaremba Fitness Consultant
Lost 45 Kg in Total
Chris, 50y Location: London, United Kingdom Lost 45kg after the age of 50 and now competes and wins physique competitions and runs marathons Check our weight loss plans