Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley and triticale. Most people can eat gluten without any problems, but those who have celiac disease should not eat gluten.
How gluten affects people who have celiac disease?
Gluten damages the intestines of people with celiac disease. This damage prevents the body from absorbing many of the important nutrients in the food. These include vitamins, calcium, protein, carbohydrates, fats and other important nutrients. The body cannot work well without these nutrients. Even small amounts of gluten in foods may harm people who have celiac disease.RELATED: RECOMMENDED PLANS FOR YOU
What kind of foods can I eat when I’m doing a gluten free diet?
A gluten free diet does not mean you cannot enjoy a healthy and well balanced diet that includes a variety of foods. There are many foods that naturally do not contain gluten; among these are:
– Vegetable (plant)
– Meat, fish and poultry (not marinated or breaded)
– Flours that contain no gluten: potato flour, soy (soy), rice, millet, flax, tapioca and corn.
– Many dairy products, including milk, cottage cheese, cream and yogurt most.
There is also a variety of foods that contain gluten and which serve as a substitute for others who normally contain gluten. Some of these options include breads, pastas, sauces and baked goods that do not contain gluten.
A day without Gluten (sample menu) Low in Calories
– 2 medium sized rice tortillas with white cheese
– Coffee or tea with skim milk}
– Rice Krispies cereal with skim milk and chopped banana
– Papaya juice (8 oz.)
– 2 whole eggs
– 4 tbsp. of kidney beans
– Orange juice (8 oz.)
– (3-4 spoons)Mashed Potatoes
– 5 oz. steak with onions
– Lettuce, cucumber, tomato, shredded carrots with olive oil and balsamic vinegar
– (3- 4 tablespoons) white rice with black Beans
– 5 oz. Shredded chicken in tomato sauce
– Green salad and purple cabbage, cilantro and celery with lemon and salt
– (5 oz.)Tilapia with mustard, capers and dill
– Light potato salad (made with yogurt instead of mayonnaise)
– Lentil soup with vegetables
– 1 Rice Tortilla
The gluten-free diet excludes all seeds of cereals, excluding rice, corn and soybeans. Therefore, products containing wheat, rye, barley and oats, such as bread, pasta, pastry, most canned beer should be avoided.
Recent studies have shown that eating oatmeal does not produce alterations over a year monitoring in patients with celiac disease. At initial diagnosis, it is best to delete for 3 months and then you can try with 3 tablespoons. It is safe in moderation, as long as it has not been contaminated in processing food sources of gluten, which is possible in commercial oats.
A gluten-free diet does not have to be boring; with a little imagination the reward of a delicious meal without gluten can be abundant.